Looking for a new comic series or an entry point to a long-running franchise? Look no further as we explore the week’s best new indie comics and graphic novels. This week its Trump bashing (of course), several mind f*cks and a princess who wants to be the truest detective. So add these babies to your pull list!

NOTE several comics featured are digital only. You can find information at either the publisher’s website or Comixology.

Violent Love #1

3
Frank J Barbiere, Victor Santos – Image Comics

In the vein of Bonnie & Clyde and Mickey & Mallory, Violent Love is the story of “Daisy Jane and Rock Bradley who were two of the most notorious bank robbers in the American Southwest. And then they fell in love.” Described as a pulp infused criminal romance that oozes style and action. The debut issue is also double sized.

Songs for the Dead #1 (Digital Only)

8

Andrea Fort, Michael Christopher Heron – Necromancer Press

Bethany, a drifter with a hero complex, embarks on a mission to find a missing fifteen-year-old boy who was likely abducted by bandits. Despite the dangers, Bethany goes alone. Her powers of necromancy will likely see her through.

Indie Comics #1 (Digital Only)

6

Various – Caliber Comics

There’s never been a comic with a more appropriate name for this weekly series of articles. Indie Comics is an anthology series with a massive 54-page debut issue. Inside you will find Rick Bonn’s “Why Did the Caveman Cross the Sea?” Brad Olrich’s story of mercenaries attempting a raid on Rectory VII, “At Galaxy’s Core.” Terry Cronin plunges three college students on spring break into an underground world of bloodsucking women. Gary Scott Beatty follows The Maketch Girl and elder gods into darkness. Michael R. Carr presents two ageing adversaries converging for a final encounter. And diesel punk meets modern world in Paul Bradford’s “The Night Errant!” All this for $2.99.

Mega Princess #1

4

Kelly Thompson, Brianne Drouhard – Kaboom!

Not everything needs to be sex and violence, and sometimes there’s a comic recommendation for children. This is one of them.  “For Princess Maxine’s 10th birthday, her fairy godmother grants her the gifts of EVERY fairy tale princess, which…sounds a lot cooler than it is, in Max’s opinion. She doesn’t want to sing on key or feel a pea under 20 mattresses—she wants to be a detective! At least the power to talk to animals is cool, but her pony Justine is downright saucy. They don’t get along.”

Farmhouse #0 (Digital Only)

5
Elizabeth J Musgrave, Szymon Kudranski – Asylum Press

What operates as a free intro to a new 7 issue miniseries, Farmhouse #0 follows an inmate of Pinewood mental Institution who is dragged from his cell and forced to create a bizarre piece of art. Sam Corneile, a drifter, returns home to take a job at a local mental institution where he discovers a group of patients being exploited under an art therapy regimen. While there, he falls for Helen, a feisty but troubled female who dares him to confront his past. Did I mention it’s free!

Terminal Point #1 (Digital Only)

7

Bruce Zick – Caliber Comics

“The Web is a great network of time and dimension that encompasses all that was, is, and shall be. The Terminus Agency is sending out ruthless Web Runners to chart the Web and plant beacons at crucial intersections of space/time. Once completed, this network of Terminal Points will allow Terminus to change reality itself. Pilot is the latest state of the art model runner and will carry out the final plan of the Terminus Agency. There’s just one catch… Pilot has a mind of his own!” A story of rebellion in a trippy mind bend of a comic.

Supernaut #1 (Digital Only)

9

Mike David Nelson – 215 Ink

Like Terminal Point, Supernaut is also a mind-bend. “Reality-hopping thieves join the newly ascended consciousness of Astronaut Stephen Haddon – now known as the Supernaut – pulling trans-dimensional capers across the Macroverse! Strange artefacts on the Moon, meeting God and stealing a map to the land of the dead from a secret pyramid beneath the Pentagon. A mystical, cosmic, sci-fi adventure like no other!”

Progressive Redneck Vol. 1 Defeat the Donald (Graphic Novel, Digital Only)

1

Chris Sheridan

So he won. It’s not the end of the world, not yet anyway. Thanks to fiction we can continue to put him in his place. “The fall of society is upon us as The Donald and his vast conspirators, including Lincoln’s beard and Zombie Thomas Jefferson’s, are making their play to take over the capital, the nation, and the world. It is up to the undead government agent codenamed, ‘The Progressive Redneck’, and a band of misfits, including a Gonzo journalist and a glam-rocker from back in the day to thwart the dark forces at play.”

Last Driver (Graphic Novel, Digital Only)

2

C S Baker, Shaky Kane – Dead Canary Comics

“In a world riddled with death, despair and giant man-eating monsters, one man does his best not to let the apocalypse get him down! Meet Frank Sudden, a no-nonsense thrill seeker who’s just trying to enjoy life… despite the end of the world. So make sure you take a bathroom break before reading because Frank Sudden isn’t making any stops!” This graphic novel has been receiving a lot of critical praise which is nice as very few digital only indie comics receive any coverage.

That’s our pick of the week. What are you reading? Let us know on Twitter or in the comments below.

Michael Vane is a freelance journalist and co-editor of PN2. He’s on Twitter @DrVane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s